About Cherry Mischievous » Contact »

Sunday, 19 January 2020

POINT OF IMPACT


Point Of Impact by Kyla Stone
Book 1 in the Nuclear Dawn series
Narrated by Stacey Glemboski
Genre: post-apocalyptic urban fantasy
Format: ebook & audiobookAudiobook


About Point Of Impact:
Surviving the blast is only the beginning…

Dakota Sloane, a tough-as-nails former foster kid, has spent her life running from the past. Her only family is her little sister, still trapped in the system.

When the news shows the bombs striking several major cities, Dakota’s first thought is to grab her sister and get the hell out of Miami.

Logan Garcia is a man haunted by secrets. His life plan is to drink himself into oblivion--until the shockwave hits, shattering the world as he knows it.

In the moments before the deadly fallout descends, Dakota offers Logan a deal. She knows a place to ride out the coming chaos, a safe house deep in the Everglades.

If he helps her rescue her sister, she’ll take him with her.

But Dakota’s past has caught up to her. Someone is hunting her through the radioactive ruins of Miami. And he won’t stop until he has her...or they’re both dead.

An electrifying post-apocalyptic survival adventure, the Nuclear Dawn series features fast-paced action combined with strong, complex characters. Perfect for fans of Logan Keys, Jacqueline Druga, Mike Kraus, and Boyd Craven.
Source: Info in the About Point Of Impact was taken from GoodReads at https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43288746-point-of-impact on 10/10/2019.

My Thoughts:
This is my first Kyla Stone read and I like the way she tells a story. However, I do not like the way she cuts the book in a big cliffhanger such that there isn't any story building at all! This book is just a first chapter of a bigger book. The entire book is an introduction with not much of a plot. Nuclear boom. These are the characters. The end. And that is the main reason this book would never get a 5 out of 5 with me. The premise is interesting but the story building is non-existent. I've read a lot of book serieses and the first book does not necessarily have to be this plot-less nor just merely a first-chapter-seeming. This is my second series which is narrated by Stacey Glemboski and she is growing on me.

Empirical Evaluation:
Story telling quality = 4.5
Character development = 3.5
Story itself = 2.5
Writing Style = 2
Ending = 1.5
World building = 3.5
Cover art = 4
Pace = (6 hrs & 19 mins listening time)
Plot = 2
Narration = 4

Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5 cherries


Books In The Nuclear Dawn Series:


Meet The Author

About Kyla Stone:
I spend my days writing apocalyptic and dystopian fiction novels.

I love writing stories exploring how ordinary people cope with extraordinary circumstances, especially situations where the normal comforts, conveniences, and rules are stripped away. My favorite stories to read and write deal with characters struggling with inner demons who learn to face and overcome their fears, launching their transformation into the strong, brave warrior they were meant to become.

Some of my favorite books include The Road, The Passage, Hunger Games, and Ready Player One. My favorite movies are The Lord of the Rings and Gladiator. Give me a good story in any form, and I’m happy.

Oh, and add in a cool fall evening in front of a crackling fire, nestled on the couch with a fuzzy blanket, a book in one hand and a hot moche latte in the other (or dark chocolate!): that’s my heaven.

I mean, I won’t say no to hiking to mountain waterfalls, traveling to far-flung locations, or jumping out of a plane (parachute included) either.


The Narrator

About Stacey Glemboski:
Stacey is an accomplished audiobook narrator and voice actor who has recorded books for many best selling authors. Though her favorite books have been for kids and teens, many other genres of narration appeal to her.

Her acting experience has been largely experiential and has been honed through singing, plays, life, choir solos, Barbies, and eventually teaching middle school. For Stacey, narration is about having fun breathing life into characters and getting as lost as possible in the story she’s telling. Outside the studio, Stacey is compulsively addicted to tennis but is not seeking any treatment for this condition.

An experienced copy editor, proofreader, and English teacher, Stacey is adept at understanding complex texts and subtleties of plot and character.

​ Her home studio is a WhisperRoom sound-resistant booth, and she uses a Neumann TLM103, MBox Mini 2, and a MacBook Air.



FTC Disclosure:
The different formats of this book were purchased with private funds.
No money received for this review.

No comments:

Post a comment

Due to high volume of spam I have to utilize comment moderation. Please bear with me. Thank you!

 
Shelfari: Book reviews on your book blog