Thursday 19 September 2019


Vendetta In Death by JD Robb (US cover)
Vendetta In Death by JD Robb
Book 49 of the In Death series
Narrated by Susan Ericksen
Genre: scifi crime fiction
Format: ebook & audiobookAudible Books

About Vendetta In Death:
The predator becomes the prey in the newest thriller in the #1 New York Times bestselling series featuring homicide detective Eve Dallas.

She calls herself Lady Justice. And once she has chosen a man as her target, she turns herself into a tall blonde or a curvaceous redhead, makes herself as alluring and seductive as possible to them. Once they are in her grasp, they are powerless.

The first victim is wealthy businessman Nigel McEnroy. His company’s human resources department has already paid out settlements to a couple of his young victims — but they don’t know that his crimes go far beyond workplace harassment. Lady Justice knows. And in one shocking night of brutality, she makes him pay a much steeper price.

Now Eve Dallas and her husband, Roarke, are combing through the evidence of McEnroy’s secret life. His compulsive need to record his misdeeds provides them with a wide range of suspects, but the true identity of Lady Justice remains elusive. It’s a challenging case, made even more difficult by McEnroy’s widow, who reacts to the investigation with fury, denial, and threats. Meanwhile, Lady Justice’s criminal crusade is escalating rapidly, and if Eve can’t stop this vigilante, there’s no telling how much blood may be spilled…
Source: Info in the "About Vendetta In Death" was taken from GoodReads at on 04/09/2019.

Vendetta In Death by JD Robb (UK cover audiobook)
My Thoughts:
Crazy is as crazy gets.
That is what this book is all about.

This installment is quite predictable. A few chapters in and we know who dunnit. But despite that, JD Robb has a way of telling a story that makes reading the book enjoyable anyway. Annddd... I got my little dose of Bella! It was short and sweet, but I still had it, none-the-less. So, this series is now starting to get the "same old, same old" feel. However, becasue one gets a year to wait for the next book, that feeling fades by the time the next installment is published and I wanted to read about the characters again like meeting old friends. Thus I remain a fan of this series.

Empirical Evaluation:
Story telling quality = 5
Character development = 5
Story itself = 4
Writing Style = 5
Ending = 4
World building = 5
Cover art = 4
Pace = (12 hrs & 42 mins listening time)
Plot = 3.5
Narration = 4.5

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 cherries

FTC Disclosure:
The ebook and audiobook copies of the book were purchased with private funds.
No money received for this review.

Thursday 5 September 2019


Spirit Witch by Helen Harper
Book 3 of the The Lazy Girl's Guide To Magic series
Genre: urban fantasy
Format: ebook

About Spirit Witch:
If anyone appreciates what it means to be dead to the world, it's Ivy Wilde.

Barely recovered from her brush with necromancy, Ivy is flung once more into a world of intrigue, adventure and potential death and disaster. It's not her fault - it just so turns out that she's now the only person in the entire world who can communicate with the dead. And they're a chatty bunch with a list of demands.

When the ghosts offer information about a witch-hating mass murderer in return for Ivy's help, she has no choice but to get involved. She might be getting herself into more trouble than she realises though - and that's even before she's dragged to Sunday dinner so she can meet Winter's family...
Source: Info in the About Spirit Witch was taken from GoodReads at on 04/09/2017.

My Thoughts:
Now innocent little Brutus... I also like the fact that this cat familiar is displaying more and more cannily intelligent behaviour... A cat who can ring Ivy on her mobile?!?... Oohh... I wonder what else the author is going to make Brutus do to torture Ivy??... now, there's a thought!

By the way, what's with the wand? Ivy never uses a wand. She's too lazy for that. Anyways, this book has the best cover yet in the entire series thus far! Hopefully it will be uphill from here on with the arts department for this series rather than downhill... **fingers crossed**

Another good thing going for The Lazy Girl's Guide To Magic series, is that, it always ends the book nicely. Sure, it leaves hints that there are more books to come, this is a series after all. However, it never leaves a book with a big gaping cliffhanger that you want to smack the author with the book upside the head. Authors like that tends to be unfollowed by me unless they have a really really masterful voice. So for the mediocre ones, they get even less chance of being read, never mind bought.

This series seems to be, not only "growing" on me, but also "addictive". So be warned!

Empirical Evaluation:
Story telling quality = 4
Character development = 4
Story itself = 4
Writing Style = 4.5
Ending = 4.5
World building = 4.5
Cover art = 4.5
Pace = 4.5
Plot = 4.5

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5 cherries

Books In The Lazy Girl's Guide To Magic:

Meet The Author

About Helen Harper:
After teaching English literature in the UK, Japan and Malaysia, Helen Harper left behind the world of education following the worldwide success of her Blood Destiny series of books. She is a professional member of the Alliance of Independent Authors and writes full time although she still fits in creative writing workshops with schools along with volunteering to teach reading to a group of young Myanmar refugees. That’s not to mention the procession of stray cats which seem to find their way to her door! Helen has always been a book lover, devouring science fiction and fantasy tales when she was a child growing up in Scotland.

FTC Disclosure:
This book was purchased with private funds.
No money received for this review.