About Cherry Mischievous » Contact »

Wednesday, 25 May 2016

Review: JUSTICE CALLING


Justice Calling by Annie Bellet
Book 1 of The Twenty-Sided Sorceress series
Narrated by Folly Blaine
Genre: urban fantasy
Format: ebook & audiobookAudiobook


About Justice Calling:
Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.
Source: Info in the About Justice Calling was taken from GoodReads at https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22825711-justice-calling on 04/04/2016.

Buy Link(s):
 


My Thoughts:
The book ended the current plot but left a lot hanging. Also the book is thin, worth two and a half hours listening time. An average length paperback is about roughly ten to fifteen hours long, so two hours is really thin. This shouts to us that there are more books in the series (as if we'd miss that glaring fact). The ending is a start of the next book which, although closed the plot, left off as a cliffhanger. I am not fond of cliffhangers, so that garnered a low rating with me. I like the story telling quality though. It's not as masterful as Ilona Andrews' but good enough to hook me as a reader. The world building is great too! It got shapeshifters and witches. Maybe we'll see elves and dwarves a few books down the line. Elements that catches my fantasy geek's attention. And I love the narration! The voice quality is not as soothing to the ears as Therese Plummer's but I love her narration anyways. In the end, it was a good read, seeing that it is a very short book. I would give it an overall entertainment value of four out of five.

Empirical Evaluation:
Story telling quality = 4
Character development = 4
Story itself = 4.5
Writing Style = 4.5
Ending = 3
World building = 4.5
Cover art = 4.5
Pace = (2 hrs and 35 mins listening time)
Plot = 4
Narration = 5

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 cherries


The Author
Annie Bellet
Annie Bellet is a full-time speculative fiction writer. She holds a BA in English and a BA in Medieval Studies and thus can speak a smattering of useful languages such as Anglo-Saxon and Medieval Welsh.

Her books include Avarice (Pyrrh Considerable Crimes Division: Book 1), A Heart in Sun and Shadow (Cymru That Was: Book 1), The Gryphonpike Chronicles series, and the Twenty-Sided Sorceress series.

Her interests besides writing include rock climbing, reading, horse-back riding, video games, comic books, table-top RPGs, and many other nerdy pursuits.


The Narrator
Folly Blaine
Folly Blaine writes fiction, narrates short stories and audiobooks, and shoots pictures in the Pacific Northwest.

She attended the Clarion West Writers Workshop in 2014.


Books In The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Series:
Book 1: JUSTICE CALLING   Book 2: MURDER OF CROWS   Book 3: PACK OF LIES   Book 4: HUNTING SEASON   Book 5: HEARTACHE   Book 6: THICKER THAN BLOOD   Book 7: MAGIC TO THE BONE   Book 7.5: HARPER'S TALE: TRIBES   Book 8: DUNGEON CRAWL


FTC Disclosure:
This book was purchased with private funds.
No money received for this review.

Wednesday, 18 May 2016

REBEL SONG


The Book

Rebel Song by Amanda J. Clay
Book 1 in the Rebel Song series
Genre: urban fantasy


About Rebel Song:
The once prosperous European kingdom of Arelanda has been plagued with poverty and corruption since the failed rebellion tore it apart. Now, rebels stir again in the capital’s underbelly, vowing to depose the monarchy and overturn the unjust government.

Seventeen-year-old Rogan Elwood, son of a rebel leader executed for treason after the first rebellion, has borne a tainted legacy his entire life. As he is pulled deeper into conflict, Rogan must face his calling in the future of the rebel cause — waging his want for peace against his desire for vengeance. Everything changes when he falls for Elyra — beautiful, idealistic and determined to bring Arelanda a better future. She also just happens to be next in line to the throne — if the corrupt Minister General doesn’t beat her to it.

Caught in the midst of a budding civil war and surrounded by enemies on every side, Elyra and Rogan must fight to save themselves and their country — and choose between each other and their duty.
Source: Info in the About Rebel Song was taken from GoodReads at https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22957044-rebel-song on 08/08/2016.

Buy Link(s):


Meet The Author

About Amanda J. Clay:
Amanda J. Clay is a California native currently residing in the beautiful and eclectic community of Berkeley, CA. When she's not staring at a computer screen, she spends most of her spare time plotting world adventures. Rebel Song is her first of many planned novels.



Wednesday, 11 May 2016

Review: THE VAGRANT


The Book

The Vagrant by Peter Newman
Book 1 of the The Vagrant series
Read by Jot Davies
Genre: post-apocalyptic fantasy
Format: ebook & audiobookAudiobook


About The Vagrant:
Years have passed since humanity's destruction emerged from the Breach.

Friendless and alone he walks across a desolate, war-torn landscape.

As each day passes the world tumbles further into depravity, bent and twisted by the new order, corrupted by the Usurper, the enemy, and his infernal horde.

His purpose is to reach the Shining City, last bastion of the human race, and deliver the only weapon that may make a difference in the ongoing war.

What little hope remains is dying. Abandoned by its leaders, The Seven, and its heroes, The Seraph Knights, the last defences of a once great civilisation are crumbling to dust.

But the Shining City is far away and the world is a very dangerous place.
Source: Info in the About The Vagrant was taken from GoodReads at https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23559647-the-vagrant on 25/03/2016.

Buy Link(s):
    Audible Books   Buy from Google Play  

My Thoughts:
This book is a slow start for me and it didn't really pick up until about two-thirds through. The slowness is not because of the story telling quality (which I like), but more of me having issues with some of the protagonists' actions than anything else. Some authors can carry insensitiveness and idiocy through with aplomb. This one hit a bit of a snag. Not big, mind. But a snag none-the-less. That brought the character development a few points down. But on the plus side, a factor which made me plod on with this book is the tantalizing idea of Vesper as hinted at in Book 2. I want to read more about Vesper but to do that I gotta read Book 1 first. Thus this book got read through. Now, post-apocalyptic worlds are not my kind of thing, but this one was woven beautifully. That brought the rating of this book up considerably.

I like Jot Davies's narration, but I think his reading is just a tad bit slow. No problem! I can set the reading to go faster in the audible app. Problem solved! Do I like the app? Heck, yeah!

Empirical Evaluation:
Story telling quality = 4
Character development = 3.5
Story itself = 3.5
Writing Style = 4
Ending = 4
World building = 4
Cover art = 4
Pace = (13 hrs and 25 mins listening time)
Plot = 4
Narration = 4

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 cherries


Books In The Vagrant Series:


The Author
Peter Newman
Peter Newman lives in Somerset with his wife and son. Growing up in and around London, Peter studied Drama and Education at the Central School of Speech and Drama, going on to work as a secondary school drama teacher. He now works as a trainer and Firewalking Instructor. He sometimes pretends to be a butler for the Tea and Jeopardy podcast, which he co-writes, and which has been shortlisted for a Hugo Award.


The Narrator
Jot Davies
Jot Davies is a television and voice actor who recorded dozens of audiobooks, including Ben Goldacre’s Bad Pharma and multiple works by Charles Cumming and Paul Strathern. In reviewing his narration of A Foreign Country, AudioFile magazine praises, “Davies’s narration ushers you in” and his “pacing fits the narrative,” calling his voice “a steady presence through the disparate events from the beginning to the satisfying conclusion.” Outside of narration, his acting credits include television shows Casualty, New Tricks and Hotel Babylon and the video game Haze.



FTC Disclosure:
This book was purchased with private funds.
No money received for this review.

 
Shelfari: Book reviews on your book blog