Saturday 5 May 2018


The Others #6: LAKE SILENCE
Lake Silence by Anne Bishop
Book 6 of The Others series
Read by Alexandra Harris
Genre: urban fantasy
Format: ebook, & audiobookAudiobook

About Lake Silence:
In this thrilling and suspenseful fantasy, set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series, Vicki DeVine and her lodger, the shapeshifter Aggie Crowe, stumble onto a dead body . . . and find themselves enmeshed in danger and dark secrets.

Human laws do not apply in the territory controlled by the Others — vampires, shapeshifters, and paranormal beings even more deadly. And this is a fact that humans should never, ever forget . . .

After her divorce, Vicki DeVine took over a rustic resort near Lake Silence, in a human town that is not human controlled. Towns like Vicki’s have no distance from the Others, the dominant predators that rule most of the land and all of the water throughout the world. And when a place has no boundaries, you never really know what’s out there watching you.

Vicki was hoping to find a new career and a new life. But when her lodger, Aggie Crowe — one of the shapeshifting Others — discovers a dead body, Vicki finds trouble instead. The detectives want to pin the man’s death on her, despite the evidence that nothing human could have killed the victim. As Vicki and her friends search for answers, things get dangerous — and it’ll take everything they have to stay alive.
Source: Info in the About Lake Silence was taken from GoodReads at on 13/08/2017.

The Others #6: LAKE SILENCE audiobook

My Thoughts:
When I read the synopsis for this book as soon as it was released, I was dismayed to know that this might now be a tangent storyline in the world of The Others and Meg & Simon might now be sidelined, if seen at all, again. It made me depressed.

In this book we meet a whole new set of characters from that of the previous books in this series. And yes, we hear about Meg and the Lakeside Courtyard in the sidelines, however, the masterful story telling quality which is a trademark of this series is still there. So even though I went into this book dreading a little, I was not disappointed. In fact, I am now looking forward to reading more about Vicki and Aggie and Chief Grimshaw in subsequent books. Although the formula of the book is the same to that of the previous books, group of bad guys against our good guys... la di bla di bla... to the point of feeling repeatitive, it is still a good read. Despite the books taking on a "same old, same old" theme, the way the story is told beats that "same old, same old" feel.

By now, I am used to listening to Alexandra Harris, however, I still need the ebook otherwise parts of the book won't make sense with her reading.

Empirical Evaluation:
Story telling quality = 5
Character development = 5
Story itself = 5
Writing Style = 5
Ending = 5
World building = 5
Cover art = 5
Pace = 5
Plot = 5
Narration = 3.5

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 cherries

Books In The Others Series:

The Author
Anne Bishop
Anne Bishop lives in upstate New York where she enjoys gardening, music, and writing dark, romantic stories. She is the author of fourteen novels, including the award-winning Black Jewels Trilogy. Her most recent novel, Twilight’s Dawn, made the New York Times bestseller list. She is currently working on a new series, which is an urban dark fantasy with a bit of a twist.

Crawford Award (2000)

FTC Disclosure:
This book, in all its formats, were purchased with private funds.
No money received for this review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to high volume of spam I have to utilize comment moderation. Please bear with me. Thank you!